Creating a Culture Where Mastery Matters

We’ve received our state test scores back, and it’s always interesting to see how teachers respond to the performance of their students.  There are teachers who lurk in the hallways to see when administration will release the scores for their analysis, and there are others who may not really care how the students performed.  The latter group have the thought, “I taught it.  Whether they learned it or not is up to them.”  These types of teachers are destructive in a building where mastery matters, and as leaders, we have to engage those teachers in ways to help them see that every student counts; every student matters.  Accountability is essential, and when there’s a culture where mastery matters, change can happen and great things can occur.

The school’s report card, or College and Career Readiness Performance Index (CCRPI), gives an indication of the school’s strengths and growth areas.  In some systems, the report may indicate a performance level of 50 or less, and some schools may have a score of 50 or less.  Although this is only one performance measure of what happens in a school, this score tells the story of what happens in the school daily.  If we were to think of it in terms of corporate America, imagine a pilot displaying his performance, or score, and it has 50%.  Most people would decline the flight and probably drive where they had to go.  I give the extreme example because teaching kids is our job as educators.  There are things that we cannot control, and events that happen outside of school that impact children more than ever.  However, as educators, we have to focus on what we can control, eliminate barriers, and place students in an environment where they feel safe and where they feel the teachers want them to learn and master standards for the year.  That’s the work that we do, and the state score will indicate how well we’ve done at accomplishing that task.

As I sit back and reflect on the year, I think back to my one word that I set during pre-planning.  That word was, “Empower.”  I wonder if I’ve done everything that I could do to empower teachers to provide what the students needed to be successful.  I wonder if there’s anything else I could have done for those teachers who still have trouble with classroom management in the last month of school.  I wonder if there’s anything else I could have done for teachers who have trouble implementing reading strategies, or teachers who have difficulty implementing a grading plan with fidelity.  Those are the thoughts I will take with me into the summer months because at our school mastery matters.  And as we go into our 10th year of operation, we have to move forward, analyze our strengths and growth areas, and make the changes needed to ensure we meet the mission and vision of this school.  I’m already looking forward to next year.  That work begins now, and I hope to continue to empower those around me to begin the journey as well.

Dr. Gardner

One Comment Add yours

  1. Jon Knapp says:

    A great article – great things can occur!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *