The God in Me

I’ve started doing an Inductive study of Matthew, and I’ve started trying to balance the time I have to study the Bible, spend time with my family, and get my work done.  Previously, I was also trying to grade papers and teach classes at Grand Canyon University, but it became too much to balance.  I enjoy waking up early because I get a chance to listen to the silence, and it’s during those times that I learn the most.  I pray to God to put me on the right path for the day and guide my thoughts throughout the day because ultimately, what I want is for His will to be done…nothing more…nothing less…nothing else.  And that’s been working for me.  I know that we can’t combine church and state or put our religious beliefs on others, but hey, this is my blog and I pay the yearly subscription, so I can really discuss whatever I want (shrugs), and I think the people that truly know me also know my intentions.  But frankly, I think it’s important to acknowledge the grace, mercy, and favor that’s over my life.  It’s something that I’ve learned while interacting with adults and students at my job, and my mother and other people who have coached me through life have always said that God will not put more on me than I can handle.  I’ve learned this to be true, in a sense, but that’s not always the case.

Honestly, I’ve been broken so that God could build me back up, and He keeps putting me in situations that cause me to lose sight of what I’m supposed to be doing.  I can tell you that it’s confusing and can make a person scream.  It’s during those times that I’m brought back to the reality that I can’t do it…it’s for God to handle.  And I realize those things on a day to day basis because I get frustrated with the demands of all life has to offer, and when you take on the burden of a broken community, you can become broken yourself-unless you know where to take those burdens.  Let that sink in for a moment.

I will tell you that I am not the best principal, and I would hope one wouldn’t expect me to be during my first year in the role, but what I’ve learned is to let the God in me find a way to shine and interact with other people.  It’s amazing what that can do.  Sometimes, all that takes is a moment of silence to find an inner peace that can overcome any obstacle that finds its way in my presence, and knowing the end result always helps to defeat the present.  I think I’ve always known these things, but leading people will take you to a place you never thought you would go.  Personally, I’ve started to analyze some of the relationships that I have with others to discover the purpose in them, and during those moments of reflection and analysis, I’ve been able to see how certain people have kept me on pace, and I’ve also been able to discover the people I need to cut off.  That’s right….off.  And I’m okay with that.  They call me all types of names and get mad, but I’m able to share some of those experiences with my students when they have the same issues, and I can give them strategies on how to deal with it.

I’ve been asked numerous times this year, “Where do you see yourself in five or ten years because you’ve got a long time before you retire?  You must want to be a superintendent or something?”  Right now, the answer is no.  I don’t.  I’ve been doing some studies about communities in need and schools that people have opened for at risk young men, and it’s slowly becoming an undying passion of mine.  I know the school to prison pipeline is real.  I was almost in it, to be honest with you, but I was blessed to be on a detour that took me somewhere else.  I was speaking with the instructional coach at Monroe County Middle School yesterday, and she mentioned how black males are their under-performing subgroup.  It’s the story being told through the data in many schools across the nation.   I remember being that student, but if you’ve been following me, you know the role Mr. Simon played in helping me overcome that skeleton.  I know that there’s a population that’s overlooked by some, perhaps not intentionally, but overlooked nevertheless.  It’s difficult to deal with broken boys, broken kids, broken anything.  The streets have discovered a way to show these boys and these kids love, and we lose them.  I want our boys back!  And I know that I could never muster up enough strength, energy and courage to save them, but the God in me can.  I know it, and if that’s my purpose, I know something greater than I could ever imagine will manifest to ensure it becomes a reality.

For now, I’ll continue to let myself be used to repair a community that is hurting and longing for revival.  Did you catch that?  It was intentional.  I’ll continue to do whatever it is that’s needed to turnaround the place where I am.  I continue to go to sleep late and wake up early and be the light for someone who’s experienced long periods of darkness.  I’ll be the light.  So should you.  Shine brightly, my friends.  This little light of mine will.

Be great.  Be accountable.

Dr. G.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *