Wisdom from the Wounds- A Farewell Post

When I was little, I remember jumping off the front porch and landing on my collar bone.  Superman was one of my favorite characters, and something in my mind told me that I could do what he did.  Gravity would tell me otherwise in a very painful way that I would never forget.   So, I jumped off our high, front porch, which was about eight feet above ground, and landed directly on my shoulder.  I still remember the loud sound of the crack; the sound hasn’t faded away in 31 years!  I screamed and yelled, never having experiencing such excruciating pain!  We ended up at the crowed, emergency room, and I can remember judgmental social workers and doctors asking me if my parents abused me and if they’d mistreated me.  I was confused and looked at them like they were crazy.   I told the social worker, “My family didn’t hurt me.  I was trying to be Superman and hurt myself, but I surely won’t do that again.  Do you know who Superman is?  Isn’t he awesome?  I’m surprised you don’t have more kids in here that have hurt themselves trying to do what he does.”  The lady smiled and said, “No.  I don’t think their imagination and confidence is as strong as yours, so you’re one of the first kids we’ve had in here trying to become Superman.”  I smiled at her, recognizing that she’d given me a compliment, but most importantly, I never jumped from any porches again.  When my collar bone was healed, the doctor stated that it was stronger than it was before and asked what I’d been doing.  I told him that I’d been letting it rest like he said, and he looked perplexed more than ever.  Then, I didn’t know why he looked confused, but now, I know that the doctor was trying to figure out how the spot that caused me the greatest injury of my life at the time had become one of the strongest areas on my young, fragile body.

I tell you that story as a lead in to this post because there have been many other times that I’ve been wounded and come out stronger than I ever believed I ever would.  I didn’t know it at the time, but you know what they say- hindsight is 20/20.  I’ve told you all a lot of different stories about my time here at Kennedy Road Middle School.  This place made a man out of me and helped me recognize that God and God only would be the reason for my success.  The situations I was presented over the past four years (child abuse, suicide attempts by kids, negligence, dealing with kids who’d been molested or taken advantage of, etc.) solidified me as a man of faith who quickly recognized the importance of purposeful prayer and meaningful meditation.  The span of emotions I’ve had dealing with  and trying my best to help students and families has taken me on an emotional rollercoaster to the point where there were times when all I could do was call on God to lead the way.  I’ve had my heart shattered from students experiencing turmoil in their houses; I’ve had to ride in the ambulance with students multiple times to get them to the hospital.  I’ve had to speak with DFACs and a lot of other entities to make sure children were protected.  And all of this, at the time, caused a major wound inside of me.  I had a rough childhood, mostly due to the lack of privilege and,  in contrast, the prevalence of poverty.  But, I’d never had to navigate the tumultuous terrain that many of my students traveled every day.  The part that caused me the most trouble was the thought from the students that the traumatic tales they shared behind the doors of my office were normal.  I’ve hurt like I’ve never experienced it before, and have found myself on my bathroom floor praying with tears flowing down my face.  I’ve also asked God to strengthen me multiple times because one thing I also knew and still know is that people want their leaders to be strong and be “Superman.” Go figure.  And through the course of four years, I’ve gained wisdom from all of the wounds I’ve experienced, and I know that I am a better person and leader because of it.

This morning, I watched a sermon entitled, “No Receipts, No Respect.”    The sermon focused on one’s experiences (the receipts) and the respect that comes from outsiders afterwards due to a familiarity of one’s situation or circumstance that could be likened to other indicators inflicted upon those going through current storms.  I often wondered why I was tasked with such a difficult job and why I had to carry so many burdens.  But God reminded me that it’s easier to carry burdens than it is to carry and cross, knowing the end result would be crucifixion.  I often wondered why God put so many broken children before me, but I was reminded of the prayer that I prayed and continue to pray each morning- “Lord, let people encounter You when they encounter me.  Guide my words, thoughts and decisions, and protect me and those I love along the way.”  I often wondered if I could do the work that seemed so difficult and endless, and I was reminded of the scripture of Luke 12:48, which states, “To whom much is given, much is required.”  And after a while, I stopped wondering and started leaning on the cross for everything.  It was evident that God not only would sustain me, but He also would elevate me and those around me.  He always has.  It was just up to me to recognize it.

So here I am, on the cusp of leaving the school where I’ve sown seeds over the past four years, and  a school system where I’ve been for 15 years, and to be honest, it’s bittersweet.  Bitter because the students keep asking me not to go and leave them.  Bitter because I know that some of them have experienced important people in their lives leaving them and never coming back.  That’s left huge holes in their hearts, and some of them still are trying to manage how to heal a heart that been hurt and broken.  It’s bitter because I know that there is so much more potential at Kennedy Road Middle School that has yet to be unlocked, and truly, I want to see all that I envisioned when I arrived in 2018 be manifested.  But again, God has reminded me that we’ve made great strides, and our school is and will always be an award-winning school.  Teachers and stakeholders have reminded me that we’ve come a long way from where we were and made an impact not only educationally, but also spiritually in the lives of everyone that’s needed it.  And although there are still some goals I believe that have yet to be accomplished, I know that God will provide the right person to continue the journey.  I have no doubts or qualms about it.  And it’s sweet because the opportunity that lies before me is one that will enable me to do some and more of the work that we began here in multiple states, school districts, and schools.  It’s sweet because once again, God is challenging me to grow into an even better educator, leader, facilitator, and change agent.  He wants more people to experience Him through me, and the promise of purpose is evident.

So, tomorrow, I will give out huge hugs and have warm tears run a race to find my chin when I hand over my keys and alarm code.  But I will leave on my own accord, knowing that new opportunities await, and also knowing that Proverbs 3:5-6 is real.  I’ll leave knowing that the way has been prepared for the next person and also knowing that God prepares us for what’s in store, even before we arrive or acknowledge that we accept the invitation to move to the next thing.  I’ll leave knowing that I’ve accomplished the task that He placed before me and also knowing that every race has a finish line.  Endurance got me there.

The race is not won by the swift, nor the battles by the strong.  These are given to he who endures to the end.  I pray God’s blessings upon all of you and pray that you will pray for KRMS and me as we all begin new journeys.  Wisdom has come from the wounds I’ve experienced as principal, and just like my collar bone, the experiences have made me a stronger person.   Wisdom has come from the good times and celebrations that are forever ingrained in my memory.  Every smile given, every letter or note written, every positive change will never leave me.  Respect has been garnered from the receipts I have to prove that hard work and faith in God are some  of the keys to a purposeful life.  Let us continue to gain wisdom and strength as we continue to do His work in the lives of those around us.  Let us continue to live in our purpose and do great work on the behalf of the kids and families we come in contact with.  To those I’ve built this foundation with in GSCS over the last 15 years, I bid you farewell.  I know for sure that our paths will cross again, and I also know that God has great things is store for all who believe in Him.

Be blessed.  Be great.

Dr. G.

 

One Comment Add yours

  1. Sylvia Knight says:

    Good Morning Dr. G,
    It was my pleasure to have served with you at Carver Road Middle. It was so refreshing to I see a young, black man be so devoted to his faith, family and career. You always given your best then and now. You and Coach Pinkney inspired and impacted my life when began my career as a new teacher at Carver and in the GSCS. Your words in, A Farewell Post, inspired me again. I felt your heartache and God’s anointing and strength give you what you needed to help those that needed it the most. I’m sure their lives will be forever changed. God always knows who to place where for such a time. You were the right man for the job! I pray that His blessings continue to overflow your “cup” so that you will have to sip from the saucer! God Bless you richly my brother.
    Sylvia Knight

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *